Tip of the Day: Eat Your Leftovers!

I know some people aren’t too crazy about eating leftovers, but I have learned that leftovers can definitely work toward my advantage. Not only do they save me money, but they save me SANITY, too!
When I intentionally make extras of something for one meal to put toward another meal, I am making my own convenience food. I try to do this at least three times a week. Here are a few things I’ve done this week:
1. I’ve made a huge pot of veggie soup with all of the end-of-the-garden goodies. We’ll have it for supper tonight and the rest will go in the freezer to be pulled out for a busy day.
2. I filled the biggest baking dish I have with a baked pasta recipe for company on Monday, and the extras made a quick & easy lunch for us yesterday when I had two extra little ones here.
3. I made a triple batch of pancakes on Sunday so that the extras could help us get cheap, healthy breakfasts on the table this week.
Other things I like to make in bulk as my own convenience foods are waffles, cookies, biscuits, pot pies, enchiladas, meatballs and casseroles. It truly takes an extra 5 or 10 minutes to double or triple a recipe, but it can easily save well beyond its value in sanity.

Leave a Reply

