Apple Cake

I have my grandma’s copy of a 1974 Russiaville Community Cookbook.  My mom gave it to me because it is from the community in which I was raised and the year in which I was born.  I LOVE this cookbook!  It has my grandma’s handwritten notes in it, my mom’s handwritten notes in it, my handwritten notes in it and now one of my daughter’s handwritten notes in it.  (I’m all teary just thinking about it!).  This apple cake recipe is from that yellow (and yellowed) cookbook, and you’ll love it.  My mother-in-law, Betty, made something similar to it, too, so this recipe is even nostalgic for my hubby.  As my sister-in-law, Cindy, says, “Its not fall until you’ve had apple cake”.

½ c. butter, softened
2 eggs
1 ¾ c. sugar
2 c. flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
½ tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. nutmeg
4 c. apples, peeled and sliced thin (I like tart apples for this.)
½ c. nuts (if desired)

Cream butter, eggs and sugar and smooth. Sift together dry ingredients and gradually add to creamed mixture. Stir in apples and nuts. Pour batter into greased 9×13 pan. Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

