Jamie’s Baked Oatmeal

Jamie's Baked Oatmeal

My friend, Jamie, gave me this recipe a couple of years ago, and I think of her hard work and generosity every time I make it. It’s a quick, easy way to have a hot, healthy breakfast in the morning. I’ve even put it together the night before and stuck it in the fridge until morning. I will give you the recipe as Jamie gave it to me, but know that you can cut way back on the amount of sugar (by half or so) if you’re using sweet fruit.

3 c. rolled oats
1 c. brown sugar
2 t. cinnamon
2 t. baking powder
1 t. salt

Combine above ingredients, then add the following:

1 c. milk (or fruit juice)
2 eggs
½ c. melted butter
2 t. vanilla

Mix well, then stir in:

¾ c. fried or chopped fruit
Feel free to sprinkle some pecans or walnuts on top or even stir in some flax seed or coconut.

Dump into a greased 9×13 and bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

