Sarah’s Brownies

My friend, Sarah, gave me this recipe after I begged her for it. Okay, I didn’t have to beg too hard; I actually traded her my grandma’s pancake recipe. Anyway, I tasted these treats at her house (with ice cream) and fell in love. I now have TWO from-scratch brownie recipes that use cost-effective cocoa powder instead of the more expensive baking chocolate. And, they beat the boxed mixes in taste, cost and nutrition (if there is such a thing as nutrition when you’re talking about brownies!). Chewy Cocoa Brownies are also listed on this page. Both come highly recommended from yours truly.

2 c. sugar
1/4 c. cocoa
1 c. melted butter
4 eggs
2 t. vanilla
1 1/2 c. flour
1 t. salt

Mix all ingredients.

Pour into greased 9×13 and bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

Leave a Reply

