M & M Cookie Mix (Jar Mix)

When I was a Coordinator for MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) years ago, I came across this recipe. Our MOPS moms made them as one of their take-home projects, and then our family made several to give away. It’s a very cost-effective gift to make if you don’t have to buy the jars brand-new. I keep my eyes open for canning jars during garage sale season, and I usually get pretty terrific prices even if I have to use a little elbow grease to get them sparkling clean.

¼ c. sugar
½ c. brown sugar
1 ½ c. flour
¾ t. baking soda
¼ t. baking powder
½ c. M & Ms
½ c. white chocolate chips (I sometimes use peanut butter or chocolate.)
½ c. rolled oats
½ c. cocoa krispies (I usually use regular rice krispies.)

Start with the first ingredient, and layer all ingredients into a wide-mouth quart jar, gently tamping down after each addition. (I use a tart shaper to do my gentle tamping, but you can use an ice cream scoop or other blunt-ended kitchen tool.)

Add a tag with the following preparation directions: Add 1 egg, 1 stick of softened butter and 1 t. vanilla to combined ingredients. Dough will be very stiff. Bake at 350 for 10 or so minutes until set. Makes 3 dozen small cookies.

2 thoughts on “M & M Cookie Mix (Jar Mix)

  1. Tried these today before I give them for presents. They are really good. put a couple of m&m’s on top. Will make 8 jars tomorrow for church prayer group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

