Staying Organized

People occasionally ask me how I stay so organized. Well, I’m not always organized, and I’m certainly not organized in every area of my life. I am also predisposed to abhor chaos; it is painful to my spirit. (Seriously.) And, the truth of the matter is that my organization stems from a very simple strategy:

Sleep 10 hours a night if at all possible. (I am mean and lazy when I’m tired.)

Limit my time in front of a “screen”. (I have long avoided Pinterest for the sole reason that it could very easily be the Black Hole of my time. Plus, less screen time definitely allows more time to sleep.)

Enlist the help of my children in some things. (From the time they were itty bitty, the kids have been required to put one toy up before getting out another. They are also assigned daily and weekly household/yard/animal chores that don’t take much time to do but that really help keep things in decent shape. My job as their momma is to prepare them for life. Like it or not, life involves being responsible for keeping your space tidy.)

Prioritize my days with manageable lists if necessary. (Lists keep me focused on the task at-hand, and I look forward to checking things off so that the kids and I can do something fun, like read, go for a walk, play games or watch a movie.)

Intentionally stay home. (It’s difficult for me to do what I need to do in my own home if I’m constantly on the run.)

Put stuff up. (I remember reading that it takes an average of 7 seconds to put something back where it goes. I found this immeasurably helpful, because I can almost always spare 7 seconds. Plus, I just operate better when I’m not constantly wading through clutter. My biggest weakness in this regard is my desk/work space. I haven’t completely conquered it yet.)

Invite people over regularly. (This keeps my housework caught up. I don’t want to be so embarrassed/discouraged by my housekeeping that I fail to offer hospitality. And, I don’t want to have to completely excavate my home just to make it a comfortable place for friends.)

Leave a Reply

