Seriously Good Oatmeal Cookies

oatmealraisin

I am often somewhat astounded when people tell me they don’t like oatmeal cookies. Though I’ve had bland ones on occasion, overall, oatmeal cookies are truly one of life’s little pleasures for me. I used to love when my mom made oatmeal scotchies, and I really like hearty oatmeal cookies with raisins or chocolate chips in them.

This recipe, however, is the best I’ve ever had. I like to use raisins or dried cranberries in them, but they’re good without. I’ve often thought that chopped, dried apricots would be lovely in them as well. Regardless of what you add in to these tasty treats, you will not regret the small amount of time it takes you to make them. Plus, they’ll make the house smell really, really good. And, they freeze beautifully.

I found a version of this recipe in Bert Green’s The Grains Cookbook some time ago. This cookbook is a fabulous resource for anyone wanting to know more about using low-cost, heart-healthy ingredients like oats, barley, bulgur and more. Green also does an A-1 job of explaining the differences between the varieties of rices available. Although I’ve adapted the recipe in his book a little bit, I highly recommend looking into the wealth of information that can be found in this cookbook.

1 c. butter, softened
1 c. sugar
1 c. brown sugar, packed
2 eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 ½ c. flour
½ t. baking powder
½ t. salt
1 t. cinnamon
1 t. ground cloves
½ t. ground ginger
3 c. rolled oats
1 c. raisins or dried cranberries

Cream together butter and sugars; beat in eggs and vanilla.

Sift together dry ingredients; slowly stir into butter mixture. Stir in dried fruit. Let stand, covered, at room temperature for an hour or so.

Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet, lightly smashing down the top of each cookie.

Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

