Waste Not, Want Not Week

One of the ways our family lives from its abundance is by doing our level best to not waste what we already have.  Since so many people struggle with waste, I am officially dubbing this “Waste Not, Want Not Week” on my Eat Cheap! Facebook page (Eat Cheap! with Trista Hill). Each day, I will be sharing tips on how to make sure less of your money goes down the drain or out with the trash.

Today’s Tip of the Day: I often refer to the crisper drawer as The Graveyard (because it’s where produce goes to die). Way too many of us buy beautiful (and sometimes costly) fruits and veggies only to let them rot in our fridge. This is not good! Make a point today to check the contents of your crisper drawer to determine what needs used this week.

When I have veggies in danger of going bad, I often use them for a hearty soup. When I have fruits that need to be used, I often put them in smoothies or oatmeal.

Leave a Reply

