Amish Watering System

The pump froze up again today.  I don’t know why.  It’s cold outside, but not nearly as cold as it was a few weeks ago.  I tried wrapping the heating pad and blanket around the handle area again like I’ve had to do in the past, but it didn’t work.  To be honest, I don’t think it’s frozen up in the handle; I think it might be under the ground, which doesn’t make sense to me.  It just doesn’t seem to be cold enough for that.

After multiple heating pad techniques and applications, I’ve given up.  It’s now on my husband’s To Do List for the evening.  Poor guy.  Actually, he’ll probably come home, flip a switch or say a prayer and water flow will be miraculously restored.  That’s just the kind of amazing guy he is.

So, the kids and I had to put our Amish Watering System into effect to take care of our bovine beauties this morning.  This system isn’t especially efficient, but it’s remarkably reliable.  All we needed were about eight five-gallon buckets, approximately 90 gallons of well water and four strong backs.

(That would be the kids and me.  We are the Amish Watering System.)

We’ve had to perform this trick before during the long, hot summer days when our plants were thirsty.  There was about a three-week period a couple of years ago in which we were putting between 200 and 300 gallons of water out on the gardens every day.  We’d fill up every bucket, tote and tub we could fit into the back of the truck, then drive down to the gardens and dip watering can after watering can into those buckets, totes and tubs until they were empty.  Not fun.

It wasn’t fun today, either.  And, it was colder.  And windier.  Plus, I had a lunch date with my mom and sister, and I had just curled my hair.

Do you want to know how many buckets (filled to the individual carrier’s preferred capacity in the house and hauled to the barn) it takes to fill an almost-empty 110-gallon tank?  I have no idea.  I didn’t count.  BUT, I did get a tremendous upper body workout as I heaved them up over the fence and dumped them into the tank while the cows stood and stared.

They didn’t even say “thank you”.

I noticed my hair looked a little flat on the way to meet my mom and sister, but I didn’t let it stress me out.  However, while heading home after our delightful mid-day repast, a big THUNK brought my attention to the rear-end of our 1990-something truck (which did stress me out).  I drove the rest of the way home at less than 50 miles per hour with my hazards flashing.  The whining sound the truck was making was horrible.  When we finally pulled in the driveway, I tried to back into my usual parking spot only to find that I had no capability to go in reverse.  Transmission, maybe?  I don’t know.  I am not a mechanic.  The truck is now also on my husband’s To Do List…but I doubt he gets to it this evening.  He has a water pump to fix.

Earlier this week, a friend of mine sent me a message asking God to help me endure under trials.  “That’s nice,” I thought, “but I don’t really have much in the way of trials right now.”  I then stopped and thought about that.  I thanked God for this season of peace and relative prosperity.  I never want to take these times for granted.

It then occurred to me that my friend was led to pray specifically for endurance for a reason, and I asked God to help me give glory to Him even when things are not so easy.  I didn’t know what was coming at the time, but I think I might be seeing a glimpse of it now.

Even so, I have friends who–at this very minute–are dealing with the loss of family members, cancer diagnoses, children in rebellion, a spouse’s infidelity and more.  The stuff that has made my day frustrating is a mere inconvenience in comparison.

So, I still thank God for this season of peace and relative prosperity.  I thank Him for friends who pray as His Spirit leads them to pray…and then let me know that they are praying.  I thank God for the hundreds of times the pump has worked and the truck has run like I’ve counted on it to run.

There is always a reason to give thanks.

Leave a Reply

