“Hot & Hearty” Oatmeal Casserole

If I ever publish a cookbook, you can bet that this recipe will be in it.  First of all, it’s easy.  It’s tasty.  It can also be very cost-effective.  Even more important to me, though, is the people it brings to my mind.

My college pal, Tif, gave me this recipe a number of years ago.  She grew up in Homer, Alaska, and she has fond memories of her momma, Betty, putting this warmer-upper on the table before Tiffany and her siblings headed off to school of a morning.

Betty and her husband, Tom, hold a very special place in my heart.  They loved on me during a time in my life when I didn’t even like myself.  I will never forget their kindness and hospitality to me during a very dark season.  Every time I make this casserole for breakfast, I thank God for their example to me and for the privilege of crossing paths with such a phenomenal family.

This is the recipe as Tif shared it with me.

Dump in bottom of 9×13 dish:

4 c. crushed fruit (Tif’s sister, Tia, sometimes uses one giant can of peaches)

Combine the following and dump on top of fruit (so that you have two layers):

1/2 c. brown sugar
3 c. rolled oats
2 c. dry milk (I don’t use dry milk.  I combine the juice from whatever fruit I am using with enough milk to make two cups, then I omit the liquid below.  If I am using fruit without extra juice (like frozen blueberries, I will just use two cups of milk.)
2 t. cinnamon
1/2 c. butter, melted

Pour 2 cups of liquid (water or water and peach juice/syrup) over the oat mixture.

Bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes or until top turns brown.

Leave a Reply

