Transmission Appreciation Month

We tend to spend a lot of time at home, and there are a few reasons for that.  One reason is that I just do better when I’m not running around.  I am more organized, more self-controlled and more productive.  Another reason is that I love our home.  We have named it Country Haven, and it is that for us–a place of peace and tranquility–even in the midst of the noise and activity of raising three children and running a hobby farm.  For the most part, I have made it my goal to not leave our property for at least three days each week.  This gives me a protective buffer from chaos.  I love being at home.

Lately, though, we have been home even more than usual.  For one thing, it is seriously, stinkin’ cold outside–the kind of cold that hurts.  Why would I want to leave the warmth of our wood stove more than I absolutely had to?  For another thing, the transmission on our old truck went out.  My husband needs a vehicle for work, so that leaves me without wheels during the week.  It’s kind of a bummer.

It’s interesting how being forced into staying home makes me feel kind of trapped.  There’s not as much peace in it this way.  When I have no other option, I feel like I’m, well…without other options.  It’s amazing how the simple knowledge of being able to go where I want to go when I want to go there brings about such a beautiful sense of freedom.

Perhaps I have too often taken such freedom for granted.  I’m sure there are a lot of other freedoms that I have taken for granted as well.

So, until we get our transmission replaced, this is Transmission Appreciation Month at Country Haven.  I don’t know that I have ever taken the time to be grateful for this remarkable mechanism before, which is a shame.  While I make up for lost time, you can find me in front of the wood stove.

One thought on “Transmission Appreciation Month

Leave a Reply

