RFRA Bills and Gay Cakes

I love being a Hoosier.  I truly do.  I’ll be honest:  It kind of hurts to see my family, friends and neighbors ripped apart in mainstream media. The Religious Freedom Whatever Act that is being attacked all over the country has been so totally blown out of proportion, and it makes me tired.  And a little bit angry.  Then, the way that some “religious” people are responding makes me even more angry.  Come on, folks.  Be nice.  

I believe that we all have the right to do business where we want to do business–whether we are buying or selling.  And, quite frankly, I believe that if we’re prejudiced, pig-headed jerks while doing business, we will eventually have to pay for our actions.  I mean, if I’m an insurance salesman and I act like I’m better than everyone around me, I’m guessing that my business will, at some point, take a hit.  That’s the cool thing about a free market.  

Back to this highly-sensationalized RFRA bill…

It would be silly to consider that any business owner who believes that we are all equal would be forced to print promotional materials for a KKK rally. It would also be ridiculous to consider that a pro-life business owner would be required to bake some sort of celebratory cake for an abortion clinic. Should an animal rights activist be forced to film an instructional video for a chicken processing plant? This bill is supposed to reinforce our Constitutional rights, REGARDLESS of our beliefs. It’s what makes America wonderful. It’s kind of annoying that our taxes are being spent on this somewhat redundant bill just because of certain court decisions that have been made in opposition to our rights as Americans, but it is what it is at this point.  More frustrating to me is that so much of the media is making it about Christians versus gays. That’s not what it’s about.  It’s about each business owner being able to choose according to his or her personal convictions.  

I want to also go on the record as saying that I don’t think it’s wrong for a Christian to bake a cake for a gay wedding. I sometimes wonder if Jesus would not only bake the cake but stay to serve the punch and help clean up afterward! If a gay couple came to me and wanted me to create their wedding cake, I would respectfully share my personal convictions with them. If they were still open to having me serve them in this regard, I probably would. (Of course, no one in their right mind would pay me to bake their wedding cake!) It would be a beautiful opportunity to be Jesus to people who may not have seen what Jesus is all about. I do think it’s important, though, that people get to live in freedom, making the choices that are right for them WITH RESPECT for anyone who feels differently.

Anyway, some time ago, I wrote the following piece after a conversation with my husband.  He is one of the least judgmental and most God-honoring men I know.  So, I wrote this little blog after my husband, Dave, shared his two cents with me about this whole debate.  I have honestly been slightly afraid to share it with very many people, because I knew that some of my audience would not approve.  I guess I’m over that now.  We can agree to disagree.

Okay, Church, there’s something that’s really been bugging me and I’ve just gotta let it out.  If a gay couple comes to you and asks you to bake a cake for their wedding, smile really big and say, “I love Jesus, and I would be delighted to bake your cake!”

I mean, I know that you have a God-given right to not bake their cake.  After all, you’re created in the image of God Almighty and you technically have the right to accept or to refuse business opportunities all in a day’s work.  Plus, you’re an American with a government-appointed right to accept or refuse business by your own free will.  So, yeah, it’s not technically wrong to refuse to bake the gay folks a wedding cake, but is it really right?

I mean, let’s think about this…what would Jesus do?  He hung out with a pretty pagan crowd, and man!  Did it tick off the spiritual high-and-mighties of the day, or what?!  Jesus seemed pretty unaffected by what all of the uptight religious folks thought.  He was going about His Father’s business, loving on the unlovable.  He knew it was the sick that needed the doctor, right?

I know, I know, I know.  They’re sinners.  You’re offended.  Gay marriage is not okay.  You’re uncomfortable.  What would people think?  Just go about your Father’s business.  It’s hard to be salt and light if you’re not willing to rub shoulders with whatever you think is rotting in darkness.

Yeah, yeah.  I hear you.  Some of those gays are just trying to make a point.  They just want to prove that they’re in control and that their rights are more important than your rights.  Right.  I get it.  How about this:  You be the one to prove the point.  After all, your point is bigger than their point.  Right?  I mean, Jesus died for them, too.  That is the point, right?  Just humble yourself.  Consider the cake-hungry-homosexuals-who-are-trying-to-prove-a-point better than yourselves.  Jesus would.  Um, I mean, Jesus did.

Baking a wedding cake for a gay couple does not mean you support gay marriage.  However, baking a wedding cake for a gay couple may very well show said gay couple that you support how BIG Jesus loves.  What we’re doing isn’t working, dear Church.  Let’s try a different approach.  Just for kicks. I mean, just for the sake of harvesting eternal souls who are also made in the image of God Almighty…just like us.

4 thoughts on “RFRA Bills and Gay Cakes

  1. While I appreciate that you’ve tried to cover this from every angle….I think you misunderstand something about the character of Jesus. He would never have been “delighted” to bake a cake to celebrate a sin that would take His very creation further away from Him. That is not love. That is unrestrained grace. The Word proves this in 1 Corinthians 13: 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth.
    We are actually told in Jude to HATE even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh: 22 Be merciful to those who doubt; 23 save others by snatching them from the fire; to others show mercy, mixed with fear—HATING even the clothing stained by corrupted flesh.
    I appreciate that you have a heart to snatch ‘sinners’ from the fire — but you must also HATE corrupted flesh. He is merciful but He is also Holy. Your views here seem unbalanced with His character.
    If Jesus did attend a gay wedding and serve punch… He would be crying the entire time because of the darkness that these two precious people have further stepped into.
    I bless you but agree to disagree with you.

    Like

    • I appreciate that you took the time to respectfully share your thoughts with me. Interestingly, I think I agree with your heart, but perhaps not with your practical interpretation. However, you have NO IDEA how greatly you have blessed me by your Christ-like manner in disagreeing with me. Thank you, and happy Easter!

      Like

  2. Thank you, truly, for your input on this. It has been so difficult for me as a Christian in a very secular work and social environment to try and explain the hurt that my friends in the gay community have experienced because of reactions to this, and to explain the ramifications to my friends in the church. This sheds so much light on the Christian perspective on RFRA and has given me a clear way to voice my opinions on the matter, which is a true blessing. Thank you for being courageous enough to go against the “norm” in this controversial and divisive issue!

    Like

Leave a Reply

