Nikki’s Chocolate Cookies

nikki'scookiesAren’t these pretty cookies?  They taste really good, too.  A girl named Nikki brought them to a class I taught once, and I kind of fell in love.  I mean, Nikki is a nice girl and all, but these cookies are…amazing.

Nikki uses peanut butter chips in these, which are lovely.  I baked them today with mint chocolate chips that I got on clearance after Christmas.  Also lovely.  I think it would be tough to mess these up.  Moist, super chocolatey and easy.  They also freeze beautifully.

Although we gave Nikki a hard time at the class for using “plastic” margarine instead of real butter in her batch, either way is tasty.  The only other change I make is to reduce the amount of sugar by a bit, which I do in almost all of my cookies and quick breads.

It is my pleasure to run into Nikki almost every time I go to my dentist (her place of employment).  She always has a smile on her face, and it’s fun to “talk shop” with her about gardening, parenting, baking and just being who God calls us to be.  Come to think of it, I guess Nikki is about as amazing as her cookies.

1 c. butter
1 1/2 c. sugar
2 eggs
2 t. vanilla
2 c. flour
2/3 c. cocoa powder
3/4 t. baking soda
1/2 t. salt
1 (12-oz. pkg.) peanut butter or mint chips

Cream butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until light and fluffy.

Combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt; add to creamed mixture.

Stir in chips.

Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 10 or so minutes.

Leave a Reply

