Tina’s Kale Salad

This refreshing salad was part of the spread at a family reunion on my husband’s side last year.  I had not previously been a big fan of raw kale, but this experience converted me.  I then proceeded to coerce various family members to give it a shot, and they ended up enjoying it as well.  Thank you to Dave’s cousin, Tina, for sharing it with us!

You could always use fresh spinach, Swiss chard or even leaf lettuce for this, too.

Fresh kale, torn into bite-size pieces

½ cup dried cranberries

½ cup toasted walnuts (I prefer almonds or sunflower seeds.)

Fresh orange sections, cut to bit-size pieces ( I use canned mandarin oranges.)

The dressing: Mix all of the following and allow to “set” on the kale before serving.

¼ cup olive oil

Orange zest

2 T fresh orange juice

1 ½ T lemon juice

Sea salt

Pepper

Note from Tina:  I like to add a couple teaspoons of white balsamic vinegar to the dressing and add orange-soaked raisins.  I also like to use organic Valencia oranges.

Leave a Reply

