Buttered Turnips

raw turnipsWe kind of have turnips out our ears right now, which is fine by me. (Speaking of ears, isn’t this an awesome picture of my dog?!)  Anyway, I really, really like turnips.  People often ask me my favorite way to eat them, and I confess that–provided they’re good and sweet–I like to eat them raw.  I just peel ’em, slice ’em and eat ’em raw.  Yummy.

My household is divided on turnips.  We all eat them, because that’s what is occasionally on the table, but we don’t all love them every way they’re prepared.  I think I can safely say that this is the way the kids prefer them.

turnips, topped, peeled and chunked into bite-sized pieces

Put the turnips in a pot and add a couple of inches of cold water.

Sprinkle the turnips with a little bit of salt, a little bit of sugar, and a pinch of pepper.  (Keep in mind that you can always add more, so don’t be heavy-handed.)

Add a tablespoon or so of butter, then simmer, covered, until fork-tender.

Add another tablespoon of butter and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

