Peace and Contentment

I’ve been preparing a women’s study on Choosing Peace Over Chaos, and I’ve been picking my husband’s brain for his professional perspective on the primary causes of chaos in our homes and what brings true peace for most Americans. He has worked with so many people over the course of the last 20 years as a counselor, but he said that–regardless of the circumstances–the underlying currents are the same. With only his lousy grammar corrected, here’s one of the things he said that really stuck with me:

“Peace and contentment are very obtainable. You just have to decide what you’re willing to do to get them. Are you committed?”

I have found this to be so true in my own life–especially in my marriage, in our finances, in our schedule and in parenting. Once I RESOLVED to set goals and stick with them in each of these areas, peace washed over me. The chaos that came with my doubts, assumptions and second-guessing was left behind. I am so proud of my husband and his willingness to be an encouraging, non-judgmental voice of truth in this chaotic world.

Counseling session over.

Leave a Reply

