Zucchini Quesadillas

I will admit that these sounded not particularly appetizing to me when my sister first brought them to my attention.  However, the recipe was found in a Taste of Home magazine, and my sister is a pretty good judge of what tastes good, so I gave them a try.  Very yummy!  I followed the recipe pretty closely the first time I made them, but I doubt that I’ve made them the same way twice since then.  Over the years, I have shared this recipe a dozen times, and I have consistently gotten good feedback.  These quesadillas make a lovely supper on a summer night–especially with fresh tomatoes, sliced cucumbers and corn on the cob.  My brother recommended to me last week that I share this specific recipe on my blog, so here it is.  Enjoy!

1 onion, chopped
1/2 c. red pepper, chopped OR shredded carrot (or both)
2 c. zucchini, shredded
2 T. taco seasoning (or just season to taste with garlic powder, cumin and chili powder)
1 t. salt
2 c. shredded cheese
6-8 flour tortillas

sour cream, salsa, avocado, hot sauce, etc., if desired

Saute veggies in a little bit of oil for a few minutes.

Add seasonings and stir, sauteeing a little while longer.

On hot griddle, lay out tortillas (as many as will fit at a time) and cover half of each tortilla with filling; top with cheese.  Fold over and brown on both sides until cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

