Preparing Okra

I think okra has been given a bad name, and I’m not sure why.  It may have something to do with the sliminess of the pods once they’re cut open.  To be honest, I generally have a pretty steadfast aversion to slimy food.  I’ve learned to get around this with okra by not cutting into it at all.

My absolutely favorite way to eat okra is to grill it.  I also like it roasted or sauteed.  Either way, the preparation is just about the same:

Wash the whole okra pods well and drain them.

Toss them with a little bit of oil.

Sprinkle them with seasoning of your choice.  (Cajun spice blend is my favorite.  The recipe is on this website under seasoning mixes.)

Grill until pods are slightly browned and begin to look withered…

OR roast in the oven at 400 degrees until pods become darker in color and begin to look withered…

OR saute in a hot skillet until pods begin to brown and look withered.

Eat down to the stem.

Leave a Reply

