Change of Plans

1heirloomtomatoesNow that it’s almost October, my tomatoes and peppers have decided to produce. I knew I was going to make chicken broth today, but I had no idea I would have enough tomatoes and peppers delivered to my doorstep to make over a gallon of pasta sauce and almost 30 pints of salsa. Slight change of plans, but I know I’ll be glad when that last jar “pings”.
 
It occurs to me that there have been too few days like this during the recent growing season–days when I had enough produce to keep me standing in my kitchen for the better part of eight hours. This fact changes my perspective and makes me even more grateful.
Leave a Reply

