Journey of Abundance, Day 16

deadsunflowerWe watched home movies for our Family Night last night.  We re-visited birthday celebrations, Christmases past, first steps, toddler temper tantrums, new homes and friends who are no longer with us.  We laughed hard at the kids’ antics, but I confess to tearing up more than once.  Two thoughts have been reinforced in my heart as a result of those old videos.

One, I am so glad that my husband and I did what we had to do in order for me to stay home with our kids.  Those days went fast enough as it is.  I am so grateful to have spent them at home with my family.  People have often commented that it was such a sacrifice for me to stay home.  I believe that either decision requires sacrifice; I just have to be comfortable with what I am giving up.

Two, I need to be diligent in not taking friends and family for granted.  So many of the people that God had woven into the fabric of our lives are no longer here.  I am thankful for the time I had with them, though I wish it had not been so brief.

Who am I taking for granted now?  We all know that life can change in an instant. Feelings get hurt, misunderstandings occur, folks move away, time runs out.  God promises us nothing more than this second.

Do you remember that old high school cheer?

Two-four-six-eight!  Who do you ap-prec-i-ate?!

There’s no time like the present to tell people what they mean to you.

Challenge:  Show your appreciation to someone who you’ve been tempted to take for granted.

2 thoughts on “Journey of Abundance, Day 16

  1. Trista I love reading your thoughts, so personal and honest. The photos are incredible. You don’t need me to be proud of you, but I am. So proud of the mother you are to your children. They are really blessed to have been placed by God into your home, and your family. You are such an encouragement to the rest of us to hang in there, with our marriages, our children, with ourselves – to trust that God can make something really special in our lives. Love, Charlene

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

