My Favorite Sugar Cookies

If I’m not mistaken, this recipe has been part of three generations of Christmas celebrations in my family.  I remember my mom allowing us to cut out and decorate these yummy cookies when I was just a little girl.  I’m told that I took my job very seriously and was somewhat disappointed at my little brother’s haphazard style of decorating the cookies.  Whether you go all out with the icing and sprinkles or eat these little guys bare, you will enjoy their soft, tender sweetness.

1 c. softened butter
1 c. sugar
3 eggs
1 t. vanilla
3 1/2 c. flour
1 t. baking soda
2 t. cream of tartar

Cream butter, sugar and eggs.

Sift together dry ingredients and add them to butter mixture, blending well.

Chill dough for at least one hour.

For cut-out cookies, roll dough to about 1/4″ thickness and cut with cookie cutters of your choice.

For log cookies, roll dough into log, about 2 1/2″ in diameter, and chill for at least another hour.  Slice dough into 1/4″ slices.

Bake cookies at 325 for about 10 minutes, making sure cookies are set but are not browning.

Dough freezes very nicely if you’re wanting to make ahead for another time.  It will also be fine in the fridge for several days.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

