Rhubarb Crunch

 

My one-and-only sister, T.J., gave me a version of this recipe a long time ago.  During my years of baking for a local Farmers’ Market I made it hundreds of times for hundreds of people.  It was my best-selling fruit dessert.  I always thought that was kind of odd when there are so many folks who say they don’t like rhubarb.  I finally realized it was because those who do like rhubarb pounce upon every opportunity to enjoy it because it is often difficult to find already prepared.  In all of the years I took this tasty treat to Market, I can only remember bringing leftovers home two or three times.  One customer told me that this crunch reminded her of her momma’s rhubarb pie and her grandma’s oatmeal cookies all rolled up in one.  She closed her eyes and sighed as she told me this.  It was a compliment of the highest order.

1 c. flour
1 c. rolled oats
3/4 c. brown sugar, packed
1/2 c. butter, softened or melted
1 t. cinnamon
4 c. diced rhubarb
1 c. sugar
1 c. water
2 T. cornstarch
1 t. vanilla

Combine first five ingredients until crumbly.  Press half of mixture into square pan.

Spread rhubarb over crumb crust.

Cook remaining ingredients until clear.  Pour over rhubarb.

Top with remaining crumbs.

Bake at 350 degrees for one hour.

This will freeze wonderfully once baked.

 

 

Leave a Reply

