My Vote

thrufence

I’m embarrassed and I’m disgusted.  What. A. Mess.  This is supposed to be the greatest country in the world, and we’ve turned it into a bawdy peep show into the lives of two self-important people who seem to care more about the power they wield than the importance of the position they seek.  It’s revolting.

All I have to do is reflect for a moment on the dignified words of the Declaration of Independence to see the contrast.  Read a sentence of two of that thoughtful deed and watch .8 seconds of a 2016 presidential debate.  The contrast is appalling.

It is interesting to me that so many American voters have made this election so much about their party winning.  They are staunchly positioned within their party lines while loudly advocating for their murdering, lying, stealing, sleazing, cheating, sliming candidate.  These nominees are proven corrupt.  Proven power-hungry.  Proven liars.  And yet there are yard signs across American, proclaiming the support of both.

This country has come a long way from coercing a reluctant George Washington to take office.

I refuse to aid in the election of someone who places such a high value on themselves at such a tremendous cost to the people around them.  Why are we so emotionally involved in a party line?  What value does that label hold for us?  We are digging our own graves here!

People keep saying that not voting for one is the equivalent of voting for the other.  I disagree.  The lesser of two evils is still evil.  There is always another option.  This year, I will take it.

I will not be a willing accomplice to the election of filth and death and deception.  I will not.  If I am not comfortable with leaving my children alone for an hour with either of these frontrunners, how in the world could I be comfortable with trusting them to effectively lead the country in which I will raise those children?

Enough is enough, my friends.  Time to raise our standards…one vote at a time.

Leave a Reply

