Safety

I soooooo wish this world was a safer place for my kiddos.

From the crap people post on Facebook to the remarkable number of people driving down the road while staring at their phones, I often feel like I want to gather my chicks and live life in our own little bubble.

I understand that “cutting the apron strings” is normal, and believe me!  I want this process to happen.  I also just want my kids to be safe.  I want everyone else to treasure them like I do.  I want people to think before they speak (or post).  I want them to drive with their eyes on the road.  I want them to understand that they are being watched and that their example makes an impact.

We are all teachers.  We all have the choice of whether we want to encourage or to discourage.

Entertaining the world is not our primary responsibility.  Getting attention should never be our top priority.

We are leaving a legacy to the world.  What legacy will we choose to leave?  Anger?  Rudeness?  Chaos?  Crisis?

Lord, help me to leave a legacy that honors You–one of peace.  Joy.  Kindness.  Forgiveness.  Gentleness.

Help me also to remember that the safe places aren’t always where You shine the brightest.  You are a refuge in every situation.

Thank You, Jesus.

roses

 

One thought on “Safety

  1. As a slam at my choice to home educate my chicks, a relative rudely remarked, “you can’t protect them forever.” Not being quick on my feet, I didn’t have “the answer” and said nothing but knew I was doing the right thing.. “The answer” I heard later, and now share often is, “no, I can’t and that’s why I’m preparing them now.” The world is indeed a very dangerous place, physically, mentally, emotionally, and most importantly, spiritually. God gives us HIS children for a season, to raise for His glory, and gives us His strength for the task when we ask, trust, and follow Him. He is faithful and able and will never leave us to face the task alone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

