Surprise Baby

Last Monday evening, my oldest daughter came in from doing the barn chores with a surprise.  We had a new baby.  One that we didn’t know was coming.

I had been trying to get my hens to actually hatch a clutch of eggs for the better part of three years to no avail.  Either the hens would try to set on their eggs during one of our rooster-less seasons or the hens wouldn’t be in the mood to brood when we knew the eggs were being fertilized or the hens didn’t like the new fun, safe brooding area I made for them and revolted or the rooster wasn’t manning up to the challenge of doing the deed.  Whatever the reason, it was always a 100% failure, and both man and bird seemed a bit stressed out by my meddling.

So, I called it quits two months ago.

We now have a baby.

IMG_6567

One of our black Australorps sneakily laid her egg in a corner on the floor of the coop.  We never saw the egg to gather it because she was setting on it.  We just thought she was being anti-social or wanted to be in out of the almost-continual rain over the course of the chick’s three-week gestational period.  Completely devoid of any human intervention, this young momma hen hatched a perfect, fluffy chick.

I know there is a lesson in here for me somewhere.

Ladies and gentleman, I think it’s time for me to leave well enough alone.  (I think I just heard an “Amen!” from my husband.)

God’s totally got things under control.  He hears my heart.  He knows my strengths as well as my weaknesses, and He knows what is best.  My meddling really, really, really doesn’t help matters.  In fact, it might just stress people out.

One thought on “Surprise Baby

Leave a Reply

