Fresh Peach Treat

I got a recipe for a delightful fresh peach pie from the wife of one of my college professors. These folks, Norm and Mary, were precious to me, and I thank God for them every time I see that recipe in Mary’s careful printing.

I have adapted the recipe a bit, because the pieces come out more neatly from a square pan than they do a pie plate. Either way, the deliciousness is the same. I also reduced the sugar, because ripe peaches are beautifully sweet on their own.

Graham Cracker Crust

1 1/2 c. crushed graham crackers of any flavor (about 20 squares)
1/3 c. melted butter
3 T. sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine crumbs, butter and sugar.

Press firmly into bottom of square baking pan.

Bake 10 minutes, or until light brown. Cool completely.

Filling

3 c. fresh, sliced, peaches
1/2 c. sugar

Mix and let stand until juice forms.

Pour off juice, adding enough water to make 1 cup.

Add 2 T. cornstarch and a pinch of salt to the juice. Mix well.

Cook juice over medium heat, stirring often, until thick. Remove from heat and add 2 t. butter and about 1/2 t. of vanilla or almond extract.

Cool juice mixture for 10 minutes or so, then stir in peaches.

Gently pour over graham cracker crust.

Serve with whipped cream, if desired.

One thought on “Fresh Peach Treat

Leave a comment