Glorified Banana Pudding

This is a HIGHLY secret recipe, and I ABSOLUTELY CANNOT tell you my source. The implications would be disastrous. So. Please be very, very cautious with whom you share this amazing resource. With great privilege comes great responsibility.

Seriously, though, in the early 1990s I was asked to never, ever share this recipe with anyone. My employer at the time banked big money on the community’s appetite for this southern treat, and I have (mostly) complied. Until now. Don’t worry. I did my homework. With the popularity of the internet, their secret was out, and they could no longer so carefully guard their secret. Their loss is your gain.

On a side note, I have occasionally wondered how much more amazing this dessert would be if each component was made from scratch–the cookies, the whipped cream, the pudding. In the interest of full disclosure, I always come back to, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it”.

6 bananas (preferably with brown speckles on their skins)
1 box vanilla wafers
1 small tub of whipped topping
1/2 c. sour cream
2 small boxes instant vanilla pudding
3 c. milk (preferably with fat in it)

Whisk pudding mix and milk well. Carefully blend in sour cream and whipped topping until no white streaks remain.

Starting with pudding mixture, make 2 or 3 relatively even layers in glass bowl: Pudding, 2 or 3 sliced bananas, cookies. Make sure to reserve enough pudding for the top layer, and garnish with a few more vanilla wafers.

Allow to refrigerate for at least 3 hours before serving.

Leave a comment